GM Recordings logo


[New releases]
[New releases]
[Shopping cart]
[Favorite Links]
[Contact us]

GM 2053 Previous Next
Russell Sherman:
Beethoven Piano Sonatas, Volume 2
BEETHOVEN PIANO SONATAS, VOLUME 2 coverVolume 2 of Russell Sherman’s bold and controversial vision of the Beethoven Piano Sonatas.  [All thirty-two sonatas are being recorded and released by GM Recordings as five double-CD sets.]  This album and Volume 1 (GM 2050) have generated enormous amounts of press, controversy and praise, being selected along the way as Stereo Review’s ‘Pick of the Month’ and one of the Boston Globe’s Top Ten Classical Releases of the Year in 1996 and 1997.  Also available in the series is Volume 3 (GM 2057).

Sherman began his studies at the age of six, and by the age of eleven, was studying with the renowned Eduard Steuermann, friend of Ferruccio Busoni and Arnold Schoenberg.  A child prodigy from New York, Sherman graduated from Columbia University in Humanities at the age of fifteen and soon thereafter played solo piano with Leonard Bernstein’s orchestra. Featured on National Public Radio, he has earned a reputation over the years as an interpreter of remarkable insight and imagination both in standard piano repertory and in his vigorous advocacy of contemporary music.

Qty: · 2-CD Price: $20.00 ·


Also available for downloads on Amazon as well as Apple Music, Spotify, Rhapsody, eMusic and other digital sites.

Russell Sherman, piano
Disk 1
Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata #4 in E Major, Opus 7 29:04
1. I. Allegro molto e con brio 8:05
2. II. Largo, con gran espressione 8:25
3. III. Allegro 5:39
4. IV. Rondo: Poco allegretto e grazioso 6:55
Beethoven: Sonata #22 in F Major, Opus 54 11:03
5. I. In tempo d’un Menuetto 5:51
6. II. Allegretto 5:12
Beethoven: Sonata #31 in A Major, Opus 110 20:09
7. I. Moderato cantabile, molto espressivo 7:03
8. II. Allegro molto 2:15
9. III. Adagio ma non troppo — Fuga (Allegro ma non troppo) 10:53
Disk 2
Beethoven: Sonata #7 in D Major, Opus 10, #3 24:42
1. I. Presto 7:03
2. II. Largo e mesto 10:20
3. III. Menuetto: Allegro 3:14
4. IV. Rondo: Allegro 10:48
Beethoven: Sonata #17 in D Minor (“Tempest”), Opus 31, #2 24:13
5. I. Largo; Allegro 8:47
6. II. Adagio 9:12
7. III. Allegretto 6:14
Beethoven: Sonata #28 in A Major, Opus 101 21:18
8. I. Etwas lebhaft und mit der innigsten empfindung (Allegretto ma non troppo) 4:21
9. II. Lebhaft, Marschmäßig (Vivace alla marcia) 5:51
10. III. Langsam und sehnsuchtvoll (Adagio ma non troppo, non affetto);  Geschwinde, doch nich zu sehr, und mit Entschlossenheit (Allegro) 11:00
Recorded on 27-30 December 1994 at the Campion Center in Weston, Massachusetts..
Producer: Gunther Schuller
[Top of page]